Uncategorized

My teacher sits on the floor!

“Excuse me Mrs.Brown, if your time permits would you kindly have a look at my assignment before final submission?” The teacher, Mrs.Brown, slightly opened her eyes in surprise:” Are you talking to me?” Pointing her finger at her “I thought you were talking to a queen, Hayat!”
“Why would you think that?”
“You sound too formal”

Mrs.Brown who is preparing her PHD thesis in education, asked me to call her just “Sara”. There were no chairs for the two of us to sit and discuss my paper, so she sat on the floor. It took me a few seconds to realize that I would need to do the same. It felt weird at first but I got used to it with time. “What would happen if a teacher in our community sat on the floor in public!”
I thought to myself.

In our communities, “most” teachers act as versions of perfect beings who are there just to instruct, authorize and sometimes control. In their communities, most teachers are humans; they act as imperfect and encourage you to be yourself. They encourage you to ask questions however stupid they may seem, and even make mistakes. In our community, you should listen and memorize and never ask any questions because you will look like an idiot in front of others.

Teaching is to guide students to discover who they are. If you can not do that perfectly, please learn how to or give your mission to someone who does.

Leave a Reply

