Good vibes

Saudi musical concert (Real Story) !

​​
Last week, I received an invitation from a friend to attend a musical concert in Saudi, my hometown. Knowing how scarce such celebrations are, I had to drop everything and go.
Even though the event was public, the invitations were not sent out to everybody. Only to a selected few; only those who the organizers can trust that will not end up making troubles. 

Why? 

Because many people consider music religiously forbidden (haram). They think it leads people astray (I know!)

I invited one of my friends and we planned to go together. On the way, we kept talking about what we expect out of it and how things are going to turn out. Honestly, we both had no expectations about it. We went for the experience. Nothing more.

We were ushered to a separate entrance for women. We chose to sit in the front raw seats to enjoy a full view of everything around. 


We arrived about 10 minutes before the show begins.The hall was too small to accommodate all those thirsty souls who came in search for art. It was hot because it’s a close theatre, but nobody seems to bother. 


Covered women of all ages would enter the women’s section in the hall smiling shyly. A normal reaction you feel when you break a taboo for the first time. Men who mostly were dressed in traditional Saudi costumes were seated at the first 10 raws of the theatre. Women were seated in a separate section right behind the men’s. 

​​​
​
We all came to support Saudi musical talents. We would applaud excitedly after each song, and encourage one another to sing louder and clap harder, as though to make up for all those years which we were not allowed to have such concerts.

​​
I am proud and grateful for being a part of a night full of laughter, good vibes, and most of all, positive change!

​​​let me know guys if you’ve caught the vibes from the videos of this post! πŸ‘ŒπŸ½βœ¨
​

………………………………………………………….

Hi,

Thanks for reading my post!

If you like it please tell me! Hit “like” or leave a comment or even reblog it. That will make my day!

My name is Noor and I’m a Saudi writer& educator who likes to eat bagels, dance and talk to complete strangers!

Feel free to have a full reading experience as you’re in this spot! Check out my other posts! They are as coolπŸ˜‰

Love,

NoorπŸ’šβœ¨

22 thoughts on “Saudi musical concert (Real Story) !

  1. Hi,

    Thank you for your post on Saudi Arabia. They are most informative and give a different perspective from main stream media. Best regards Cheryl Collins Women Entrepreneurs Worldwide Main Social Media Platform: LinkedIn

    Like

  2. hi noor! i like this article, i’ve arabic blood lol, so my familly often to listen and watch arabic classic music as you took in here.
    would you like to share who is popular artist (arabic classic music)? then i can have many references.
    thankyou!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Lalativ, may I ask where are you from?
      We have got soooooo many Arabic singers and musicians. I assume you’re asking for classical music not songs so I will go with Naseer Shamma, an Iraqi musician.
      Let me know your preferences so I can recommend more names!

      Like

  3. Wow…thanks for sharing. The music is beautifully mystical. I’m am surprised that this did take place in Saudi, and women folk also attendedπŸ‘, good to see some change coming about. Having lived in Bahrain… stuff like this was common, hence we always seen Saudis there.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

